政教分离

政教分离

 
当前位置: 大众关注的问题 >> 政教分离

政教分离——在宪法中
美国法律一项让人尊重原则是“政教分离”。开国元勋在建国初期将此原则纳入美国法律时的初衷以及此原则在今天实践中应该具有的意义,已是面目全非。这些争论源于基要真理和信仰价值的不同观点。

“政教分离”这个词在美国宪法中不是很清楚。相反,宗教和政府的关系在宪法中只有三处提及。第一处,在第六条第三部分说作为国家工作人员的资格不应该要求任何宗教性考试。另外两个关于宗教的宪法在第一个修正案中提到。第一个,叫做“权力机构条款”,规定政府不应该制订任何关系到宗教机构的法律。第二, 叫做“自由行使条款”,规定政府不应该制定任何法律来禁止宗教自由的行为。

政教分离——对《第一修正案》的解释
众人皆知的短语“政教分离墙”实际上是指1802年托马斯杰弗逊总统在信中描述《第一修正案》的功能时所用的一句短语。至到75年之后,当美国最高法院声明它“几乎”是对第一修正案的权威解释时,这句短语才成为美国法学的一部分(但之后仍然受到摩门教实践包括一夫多妻制自由的干扰)。自从1947年以来,法院决定第一修正案例时频繁使用这个短语。

在最低限度上,政教分离意味着美国不像一些中东国家一样是神权国家。美国人不相信国家领袖的统治具有神圣的权力和力量。它也意味着教会和政府都是单独的机构,两者互不干涉内部事务。政府不参与决定教会领袖,作为教会领袖也不会在政府部门任职(尽管作为普通公民,按他们的能力可能被选举或任命担任政府职务),在英国是这样。另外,1947年爱维森和学校董事会一案之后,美国最高法院开始坚持政教分离意味着宗教观念和政府行为实质上不应该有任何接触。

政教分离——今天的辩论
尽管最高法院目前对政教分离的立场是保护那些少数宗教信仰或无信仰,它常常让占多数的信仰觉得他们的宗教自由受到侵犯。它也深深困扰着那些相信信仰是必要的,或者至少有益于道德和法制生活。随着这些年来政府角色的扩张,法院的立场也愈加变得有争议。因为政府涉及到今天社区生活的许多方面,从维持公立学校制度到管理众多社会福利,在政教之间树立一堵严格墙的观点把宗教推到公众生活的边缘。很多美国人相信这个结局并不是开国先辈们的初衷。

政教分离——不同的解释
关于法院应该如何解释宪法中对宗教的极少提及和现今如何应用,有两个思想主流学派。

  • 最初的理解和意图。一些美国人相信法院应该尽力识别宪法和《第一修正案》的起草者当时的意图,并将此意图应用在今天的环境中。他们辩论说这是人们通过法律程序制定的国家法律,只有通过对宪法修正案才能改变。这个观点倾向于政府向宗教作出更多让步,因为无可置辩地,当宪法和《第一修正案》被采用时,政府承认并尊重宗教信仰,并对美国人宗教的天性非常宽容,包括公共场所祷告和阅读圣经。

  • 道德理解和意图。另一些人辩论宪法反映了某些普通道德原则,法院必须尽力把它诠释成现实,必要时作出修改。

阅读 政教分离 Page 2


喜欢这些信息?使用以下社交媒介与他人分享。 这是什么?




与他人分享:




English  
Social Media
关注我们: 

与他人分享:


热门话题

万圣节的起源
复活岛的历史
半出生性堕胎
诺斯垂丹姆预言
世界新秩序
干细胞研究
财务问题
政教分离
人类基因工程
Additional Content To Explore...

科学上神存在吗?
哲学上神存在吗?
圣经是真实的吗?
神是谁?
耶稣是谁?
哪个宗教?
如何在神中成长?
生活挑战
复原有望
 
 
 
搜索
 
Add 政教分离 to My Google!
Add 政教分离 to My Yahoo!
XML Feed: 政教分离
大众关注的问题 主页 | 关于我们 | 网站图
版权© 2002 - 2016 AllAboutPopularIssues.org, 保留所有权利。

Separation of Church and State

allaboutpopularissues

Separation of Church and State – In the Constitution
An honored principle of American law is the “separation of church and state.” Americans differ sharply as to what the country’s founding fathers intended when this principle was incorporated into American law and what the principle should mean in practice today. These disputes stem from differing views about fundamental truth and the importance of belief.

The words “separation of church and state” are not expressly in the U.S. Constitution. Instead, there are just three references to the relationship between religion and government in the Constitution. The first, in Article VI, section 3, says that no religious test shall ever be required as a qualification to hold public office. The second two constitutional references to religion are found in the First Amendment. The first, known as the Establishment Clause, provides that the government shall make no law respecting the establishment of religion. The second, known as the Free Exercise Clause, provides that the government shall make no law prohibiting the free exercise of religion.

Separation of Church and State – An Interpretation of the First Amendment
The well-known phrase, “wall of separation between church and state,” is actually a reference to a phrase used by President Thomas Jefferson to describe the function of the First Amendment in a letter in 1802. The phrase did not become part of U.S. jurisprudence until more than 75 years later when the U.S. Supreme Court stated that it was an “almost” authoritative explanation of the First Amendment (but then nevertheless interfered with a Mormon’s free exercise of his religion since it included polygamy). Since 1947, the courts have frequently used the phrase in deciding First Amendment cases.

At minimum, the separation of church and state means that the U.S. is not a theocracy, as is the case in some Middle Eastern countries. Americans do not believe that the country’s leader rules by divine right or has divine powers. It also means that the church and the government are separate institutions and neither directs the internal affairs of the other. The government is not involved in choosing church leaders and these leaders do not serve in government in their role as church leaders (although they may be elected or appointed to government positions in their capacity as ordinary citizens), as is true in England. In addition, in 1947 with the case of Everson v. Board of Education, the U.S. Supreme Court began to hold that the separation of church and state means that there should be virtually no contact between religious ideas and government activity.

Separation of Church and State – The Controversy Today
While the Supreme Court’s current position on the separation of church and state protects those of minority faiths or no faith, it often leaves those of majority faiths feeling that their free exercise of religion is being infringed. It is also deeply troubling to those who believe that faith is necessary, or at least conducive, to moral and lawful living. The Court’s position has also become increasingly controversial as the role of government has expanded through the years. Because the government is involved in many aspects of community life today, from maintaining the public school system to administering many social benefits, preserving a strict wall between state and any religious idea pushes religion to the margins of public life. Many Americans believe this is a result the Country’s founding fathers never intended.

Separation of Church and State – Differing Interpretations
There are two main schools of thought as to how the courts should interpret the minimal references to religion in the Constitution and apply them today.

  • Original understanding or intent. Some Americans believe the courts should make every attempt to discern what the original drafters of the Constitution and First Amendment intended at the time of drafting and apply this intent to today’s circumstances. They argue that this is the law of the land enacted by the people through legal procedure and can be altered only by Constitutional amendment. This view tends to favor a greater level of government accommodation toward religion since it is undisputed that government at the time the Constitution and First Amendment were adopted both recognized and respected religious belief and made many allowances for the religious nature of Americans, including public prayer and Bible reading.

  • Moral understanding or intent. Others argue that the Constitution reflects certain principles of general morality which courts must translate as best as possible into current reality, adapting as necessary.

Read Separation of Church and State Page 2 Now!


Like this information? Help us by sharing it with others. What is this?