Clicky

干细胞研究

干细胞研究

 干细胞研究
当前位置: 大众关注的问题 >> 干细胞研究

干细胞研究 - 什么是干细胞?
新近媒体充斥着关于干细胞研究的的争论。 争论的焦点何在? 干细胞是相对于分化的细胞而言的。 因为这种细胞具有全能的分化潜力, 因此为医学发展带来了极大的希望。 例如,干细胞可以取代遭破坏的大脑和脊柱神经细胞。 在癌症的治疗过程中,健康的干细胞可以取代被放疗和化疗所破坏的细胞,分化成为大脑、心脏、肝、肺或身体其它部位的一部分。 几乎任何一种死亡的细胞,无论致死的伤害或疾病类型如何,都能被有着惊人可塑性的新而健康的干细胞所替代。 因此,投入这一全新领域的资金已达数十亿美元。

干细胞研究 - 争论起源何处?
要了解有关干细胞的争论, 就要先了解干细胞从哪里来。 获取干细胞的渠道主要有三个:成人细胞、脐带细胞和胚胎细胞。 成人干细胞可以从骨髓或者外周系统提取。 骨髓是干细胞的丰富来源。 然而这个提取的过程会破坏骨髓,给承受者带来一定的痛苦。 成人干细胞也可以从骨髓或者外周系统提取,避免伤害骨髓,但过程需要的时间较长。 而医学上,时间往往就代表生命。 成人干细胞虽然要从患者自身提取而且难度较大, 但它有优于脐带干细胞和胚胎干细胞之处。 首先是数量不成问题; 其次提取出的细胞不存在 DNA 的差异,因此不会受人体排斥。 其研究结果正象人们所期待的,有着深远的意义和广大的前途。

干细胞的第二大丰富来源是脐带。 如果一个家庭准备在先,脐带细胞也可以提供完美的匹配。 脐带细胞在怀孕的时候提取,作为一种保险措施,储存在低温的细胞库里以备将来新生儿之用。 这种细胞也可以用在新生儿的父母亲和其他人身上。 血缘关系越远,细胞被免疫系统的抗体排斥的可能性就越大。 然而,一些细胞类型比较常见,正如血型有常见的一样,所以特别是有多个捐献者时,匹配是完全可能的。 脐带细胞的捐献和储藏过程与血液类似。 捐献脐带细胞受到大力提倡。 与成人细胞和胚胎细胞相比,脐带有着丰富得多的干细胞资源,而且可以预先储藏,以备未来之需。 即使捐献者与接受者之间的 DNA 不完全匹配,科学家们也已发展出一些提高可输性、减少危险性的方法。

干细胞研究 - 胚胎细胞
当我们审视干细胞的第三个来源—胚胎细胞时,争论开始出现。 胚胎干细胞是在胚胎的细胞未分化之前直接从中提取的。 在这个阶段的胚胎称之为胚泡。 胚泡大约有一百个细胞组成,其中很大的一部分是干细胞。它们在培养皿中培养时,可以持久存活。培养皿中的干细胞每隔两三天,数量就成倍增长。 因为遗传物质都来自于同一个受精卵,所以从一个单一的胚泡复制而来的一组干细胞就被称为干细胞株。 2001 年 8 月,布什总统授权启用政府资金对 15 个干细胞株进行研究。 其它的干细胞株也可以用于研究,只是没有政府资金作后盾。

那么争论由何而起呢? 以受孕作为人的生命起点的人士反对胚胎干细胞的研究,因为从胚胎中提取干细胞会摧毁胚胎本身。 也就是说,提取的过程会剥夺一个生命。 有些人认为这跟谋杀没什么两样。 支持胚胎干细胞研究的一方则认为,微小的胚泡不具备人类的特征。 更何况,新的干细胞株已经由于常见的体外授精而存在了。 支持研究方认为,许多人类的授精卵已经被储存了,只是还没有被用于研究而已。 他们声称,不会基于实验这一唯一目的而创造新生命。

其他人从医学领域提出反对意见。 在用胚胎干细胞来治疗老鼠的帕金森氏综合症的实验中,已有将近 20% 的老鼠死于脑肿瘤。1 实验显示,经过长时间储藏的胚胎干细胞产生了染色体异常,从而导致了癌细胞的生成。2 从更实际的立场看,用于胚胎干细胞研究的资金原本是可以用在另两种研究上的。而这两种研究更有前途,也更少争议。

了解更多!

脚注
1 参见 HealthNewsDigest.com 网 David Prentice 医生所著 The Real Promise of Stem Cell Research。
2 C. A. Cowan 等合著:Derivation of Human Stem-Cell Lines from Human Blastocysts。 见 2004 年 3 月 25 日版 New England Journal of Medicine 1355 页。 亦参见第 1356 页的 13-17 脚注。


喜欢这些信息?使用以下社交媒介与他人分享。 这是什么?




与他人分享:




阅读英文版本   荷兰语  
Social Media
关注我们: 

与他人分享:


热门话题

赞成选择性堕胎
复活岛的历史
财务问题
政教分离
半出生性堕胎
万圣节的起源
干细胞研究
世界新秩序
诺斯垂丹姆预言
Additional Content To Explore...

科学上神存在吗?
哲学上神存在吗?
圣经是真实的吗?
神是谁?
耶稣是谁?
哪个宗教?
如何在神中成长?
生活挑战
复原有望
 
 
 
搜索
 
Add 干细胞研究 to My Google!
Add 干细胞研究 to My Yahoo!
XML Feed: 干细胞研究
大众关注的问题 主页 | 关于我们 | 网站图
版权© 2002 - 2016 AllAboutPopularIssues.org, 保留所有权利。

Pros And Cons Of Stem Cell Research

allaboutpopularissues

Pros and Cons of Stem Cell Research - What are Stem Cells?
There has been much controversy in the press recently about the pros and cons of stem cell research. What is the controversy all about? "Stem" cells can be contrasted with "differentiated" cells. They offer much hope for medical advancement because of their ability to grow into almost any kind of cell. For instance, neural cells in the brain and spinal cord that have been damaged can be replaced by stem cells. In the treatment of cancer, cells destroyed by radiation or chemotherapy can be replaced with new healthy stem cells that adapt to the affected area, whether it be part of the brain, heart, liver, lungs, or wherever. Dead cells of almost any kind, no matter the type of injury or disease, can be replaced with new healthy cells thanks to the amazing flexibility of stem cells. As a result, billions of dollars are being poured into this new field.

Pros and Cons of Stem Cell Research - Where Do They Come From?
To understand the pros and cons of stem cell research, one must first understand where stem cells come from. There are three main sources for obtaining stem cells - adult cells, cord cells, and embryonic cells. Adult stem cells can be extracted either from bone marrow or from the peripheral system. Bone marrow is a rich source of stem cells. However, some painful destruction of the bone marrow results from this procedure. Peripheral stem cells can be extracted without damage to bones, but the process takes more time. And with health issues, time is often of the essence. Although difficult to extract, since they are taken from the patient's own body, adult stem cells are superior to both umbilical cord and embryonic stem cells. They are plentiful. There is always an exact DNA match so the body's immune system never rejects them. And as we might expect, results have been both profound and promising.

Stem cells taken from the umbilical cord are a second very rich source of stem cells. Umbilical cells can also offer a perfect match where a family has planned ahead. Cord cells are extracted during pregnancy and stored in cryogenic cell banks as a type of insurance policy for future use on behalf of the newborn. Cord cells can also be used by the mother, the father or others. The more distant the relationship, the more likely it is that the cells will be rejected by the immune system's antibodies. However, there are a number of common cell types just as there are common blood types so matching is always possible especially where there are numerous donors. The donation and storage process is similar to blood banking. Donation of umbilical cells is highly encouraged. Compared to adult cells and embryonic cells, the umbilical cord is by far the richest source of stem cells, and cells can be stored up in advance so they are available when needed. Further, even where there is not an exact DNA match between donor and recipient, scientists have developed methods to increase transferability and reduce risk.

Pros and Cons of Stem Cell Research - Embryonic Cells
The pros and cons of stem cell research come to the surface when we examine the third source of stem cells - embryonic cells. Embryonic stem cells are extracted directly from an embryo before the embryo's cells begin to differentiate. At this stage the embryo is referred to as a "blastocyst." There are about 100 cells in a blastocyst, a very large percentage of which are stem cells, which can be kept alive indefinitely, grown in cultures, where the stem cells continue to double in number every 2-3 days. A replicating set of stem cells from a single blastocyst is called a "stem cell line" because the genetic material all comes from the same fertilized human egg that started it. President Bush authorized federal funding for research on the 15 stem cell lines available in August 2001. Other stem cell lines are also available for research but without the coveted assistance of federal funding.

So what is the controversy all about? Those who value human life from the point of conception, oppose embryonic stem cell research because the extraction of stem cells from this type of an embryo requires its destruction. In other words, it requires that a human life be killed. Some believe this to be the same as murder. Against this, embryonic research advocates argue that the tiny blastocyst has no human features. Further, new stem cell lines already exist due to the common practice of in vitro fertilization. Research advocates conclude that many fertilized human cells have already been banked, but are not being made available for research. Advocates of embryonic stem cell research claim new human lives will not be created for the sole purpose of experimentation.

Others argue against such research on medical grounds. Mice treated for Parkinson's with embryonic stem cells have died from brain tumors in as much as 20% of cases.1 Embryonic stem cells stored over time have been shown to create the type of chromosomal anomalies that create cancer cells.2 Looking at it from a more pragmatic standpoint, funds devoted to embryonic stem cell research are funds being taken away from the other two more promising and less controversial types of stem cell research mentioned above.

Learn More Now!

Footnotes
1 The Real Promise of Stem Cell Research Dr. David Prentice, HealthNewsDigest.com
2 Derivation of Human Stem-Cell Lines from Human Blastocysts, C. A. Cowan and others. March 25, 2004, New England Journal of Medicine, p.1355 with secondary reference to footnotes 13-17 p.1356.


Like this information? Help us by sharing it with others. What is this?