All About Popular Issues All About Popular Issues Banner

Revelation Timeline

QUESTION: What is the Revelation timeline?


It can be difficult to develop a timeline of the Book of Revelation because Revelation is not entirely in chronological order. Revelation chapters 6, 8-9, 15-16, 19-20 are chronological, but chapters 7-14 seem to describe events dispersed in between the other chapters. A basic Revelation timeline would be as follows:
  • The First Seal (Revelation 6:1-2), likely the coming of the antichrist.
  • The Beasts and Mark of the Beast (Revelation chapter 13), the antichrist enforces loyalty.
  • The 144,000 (Revelation chapter 7), evangelists sent out into the world.
  • The Second Seal (Revelation 6:3-4), warfare.
  • The Third Seal (Revelation 6:5-6), famine.
  • The Fourth Seal (Revelation 6:7-8), plague.
  • The Fifth Seal (Revelation 6:9-11), the martyred saints asking God for revenge.
  • The Sixth Seal (Revelation 6:12-17), a powerful earthquake.
  • The Seventh Seal (Revelation 8:1-5), the beginning of the Seven Trumpets.
  • The Two Witnesses (Revelation 11:1-12), two powerful adversaries to the antichrist.
  • The First Trumpet (Revelation 8:7), a third of the earth is burned.
  • The Second Trumpet (Revelation 8:8-9), a third of sea life is destroyed.
  • The Third Trumpet (Revelation 8:10-11), a third of the water is poisoned.
  • The Fourth Trumpet (Revelation 8:12-13), darkness on the earth.
  • The Fifth Trumpet (Revelation 9:1-12), attack of demonic locusts.
  • The Sixth Trumpet (Revelation 9:13-21), attack of demonic armies.
  • The Seventh Trumpet (Revelation 11:15-19), the beginning of the Seven Bowls.
  • The First Bowl (Revelation 16:1-2), painful sores.
  • The Second Bowl (Revelation 16:3), the seas turned into blood.
  • The Third Bowl (Revelation 16:4-7), the rivers turned into blood.
  • The Fourth Bowl (Revelation 16:8-9), scorching heat.
  • The Fifth Bowl (Revelation 16:10-11), darkness and pain.
  • The Sixth Bowl (Revelation 16:12-16), preparation for Armageddon war.
  • The Seventh Bowl (Revelation 16:17-21), huge earthquake and hailstones.
  • The destruction of Babylon (Revelation chapters 17-18), one-world system comes to an end.
  • The Second Coming of Christ (Revelation 19:1-16).
  • The Battle of Armageddon (Revelation 19:17-20).
  • The 1000 year millennial reign of Christ (Revelation 20:1-6).
  • The last great rebellion at the end of the 1000 years (Revelation 20:7-10).
  • The Great White Throne Judgment (Revelation 20:11-15).
  • The New Heavens and New Earth (Revelation chapters 21-22).
  • Again, it is difficult to place all the events in Revelation in a timeline. We know the above events will occur just as the Bible describes them. What we do not know is precisely when the events will occur in relation to each other.

    Learn more about the Book of Revelation.

    What do you think?
    We have all sinned and deserve God’s judgment. God, the Father, sent His only Son to satisfy that judgment for those who believe in Him. Jesus, the creator and eternal Son of God, who lived a sinless life, loves us so much that He died for our sins, taking the punishment that we deserve, was buried, and rose from the dead according to the Bible. If you truly believe and trust this in your heart, receiving Jesus alone as your Savior, declaring, "Jesus is Lord," you will be saved from judgment and spend eternity with God in heaven.

    What is your response?

    Yes, I want to follow Jesus

    I am a follower of Jesus

    I still have questions

    Copyright © 2002-2021, All Rights Reserved