Clicky

在公立学校祷告

在公立学校祷告

 - 法律先例
当前位置: 大众关注的问题 >> 在公立学校祷告

一些引文直接摘自“在公立教育和中级学校中受宪法保护的祷告指南”(版权,洁思可罗,ACLJ.org, 2003年2月7日)。

在公立学校祷告——纵观支配宪法的原则
在公立学校中祷告的历史是一个法律解释的经历。 美国政府和宗教的关系是由《宪法第一修正案》规定的,它防止政府设立宗教,并保护私下发起的宗教表达方式和活动不受政府的干扰和歧视。《第一修正案》因而就有关宗教行为包括祷告,对公立学校教职员的行为制定了必要的限制。

最高法院重复坚持《第一修正案》要求公立学校教职员在对待宗教问题上持中立态度,对待宗教表达如祷告等既不能表示偏袒也不能有敌意。好消息俱乐部与米尔富岑学校案,533 美国 98 (2001);爱维森与教育部案,330 美国 1 (1947)。因此,《第一修正案》禁止由政府发起的宗教行为,但保护由私人发起的宗教行为,政府发起和私人自发的宗教表达之间的界限对正确理解《第一修正案》的范围是至关重要的。正如法院在几个案例中所解释,“《权力机构条款》中禁止的政府赞成宗教的言词和《自由言论和自由实践条款》中保护的私人拥护宗教的言论之间有极其重要的区别。”圣达菲独立学区与窦之案,530 美国 290.302(2000)。

在公立学校祷告——划清可允许表达的界限
最高法院过去四十年的决定制定了区分不受许可的政府性宗教言论和受宪法保护的学生私人宗教性言论的原则。例如,教师和其他公立学校教职员不能带领班级祷告、祷告式读经或其它宗教活动。尹格尔与维特勒案,370美国421(1962);阿屏敦学区与山普案,374美国203(1963)。学校教职员也不可以试图劝说或强迫学生参加祷告或其它宗教活动。李与韦斯曼案,505美国577,599(1992)。如此行为是“属于国家的”,因此违反了《权力机构条款》。韦斯曼,505 美国 587。

尽管宪法禁止公立学校官员带领或偏袒祷告,学生不“失去宪法规定在校舍内言论表达自由的权力”。廷克与德斯莫因司独立社区学校案,393美国503.506(1969)。另外,最高法院明确“私人宗教言论,远离《第一修正案》孤立行,作为长期的私人言论,得到《自由言论条款》的完全保护。”国会广场回顾和咨询委员会与皮内特案,515美国753.760(1995)。此外,不是所有在公立学校发生或学校主办事件中的宗教言论都是政府言论。圣达菲,530美国302。例如,“宪法中没有……禁止任何公立学校学生在上学前、放学后或在校期间自愿祷告”,学生可以与其他学生在校期间一起祷告,同进行其它对话和言论的条件条款一致。圣达菲,530美国313。

在公立学校祷告——我们国家的遗产
直到六十年代早期,在公立学校祷告才被美国宪法的一个新解释“宣布不合法”。实际上,美国历史包括了在各种各样的公共场合,包括学校里祷告和阅读圣经。1782年,美国国会通过以下决议:“美国国会推荐和批准在所有学校使用圣经。”

威廉和尔斯迈古菲,是《迈古菲读者》的作者,此书在美国公立学校使用长达一百多年,发行量超过一亿两千五百万册直到1963年才停止。林肯总统把作者称为“国家的校长”。迈古菲说:“基督教是我们的国家的宗教。我们的观念来源于神的特性和宇宙中最伟大的道德权威。在此原则上创立了我们自由体制的特性。除了圣经作者无法从其它源头吸取这样的精华。我不为圣经中所有这些精华而道歉。”

美国最早建立的一百零八所大学中,106所是明显的基督教性质,包括1636年得到特许名列第一的哈佛大学,。在最初哈佛的学生手册中,第一条规则是申请入学的学生必须知晓拉丁文和希腊文,这样他们才能学习圣经:“让每个学生清楚明白地接受教育并催促学生认真思考,他生活和学习的主要目标是:要认识神和耶稣基督,就是永生,(约翰福音17:3);因此将耶稣基督作为所有健全知识和学问的唯一基础。看到主只赐予智慧,让每个人私下认真祷告,呼求名哲(箴言2:3)”。

回顾更多判例法!


喜欢这些信息?使用以下社交媒介与他人分享。 这是什么?




与他人分享:




English  
Social Media
关注我们: 

与他人分享:


热门话题

赞成选择性堕胎
学校祷告判例法
万圣节的起源
赞成堕胎
青少年堕胎
半出生性堕胎
父母之道
在公立学校祷告
在学校祷告
Additional Content To Explore...

科学上神存在吗?
哲学上神存在吗?
圣经是真实的吗?
神是谁?
耶稣是谁?
哪个宗教?
如何在神中成长?
生活挑战
复原有望
 
 
 
搜索
 
Add 在公立学校祷告 to My Google!
Add 在公立学校祷告 to My Yahoo!
XML Feed: 在公立学校祷告
大众关注的问题 主页 | 关于我们 | 网站图
版权© 2002 - 2016 AllAboutPopularIssues.org, 保留所有权利。

Prayer In Public School (Precedents)

allaboutpopularissues

Prayer in Public School - Overview of Governing Constitutional Principles
The history of prayer in public school is a story of legal interpretation. The relationship between religion and government in the United States is governed by the First Amendment to the Constitution, which both prevents the government from establishing religion and protects privately initiated religious expression and activities from government interference and discrimination. The First Amendment thus establishes certain limits on the conduct of public school officials as it relates to religious activity, including prayer.

The Supreme Court has repeatedly held that the First Amendment requires public school officials to be neutral in their treatment of religion, showing neither favoritism toward nor hostility against religious expression such as prayer. Good News Club v. Milford Cent. Sch., 533 U.S. 98 (2001); Everson v. Board of Educ., 330 U.S. 1 (1947). Accordingly, the First Amendment forbids religious activity that is sponsored by the government but protects religious activity that is initiated by private individuals, and the line between government-sponsored and privately initiated religious expression is vital to a proper understanding of the First Amendment's scope. As the Court has explained in several cases, "there is a crucial difference between government speech endorsing religion, which the Establishment Clause forbids, and private speech endorsing religion, which the Free Speech and Free Exercise Clauses protect." Santa Fe Indep. Sch. Dist. v. Doe, 530 U.S. 290, 302 (2000).

Prayer in Public School - Drawing the Line of Permissible Expression
The Supreme Court's decisions over the past forty years set forth principles that distinguish impermissible governmental religious speech from the constitutionally protected private religious speech of students. For example, teachers and other public school officials may not lead their classes in prayer, devotional readings from the Bible, or other religious activities. Engel v. Vitale, 370 U.S. 421 (1962); School Dist. of Abington Twp. v. Schempp, 374 U.S. 203 (1963). Nor may school officials attempt to persuade or compel students to participate in prayer or other religious activities. Lee v. Weisman, 505 U.S. 577, 599 (1992). Such conduct is "attributable to the State" and thus violates the Establishment Clause. Weisman, 505 U.S. at 587.

Although the Constitution forbids public school officials from directing or favoring prayer, students do not "shed their constitutional rights to freedom of speech or expression at the schoolhouse gate." Tinker v. Des Moines Indep. Community Sch. Dist., 393 U.S. 503, 506 (1969). In addition, the Supreme Court has made clear that "private religious speech, far from being a First Amendment orphan, is as fully protected under the Free Speech Clause as secular private expression." Capitol Square Review & Advisory Bd. v. Pinette, 515 U.S. 753, 760 (1995). Moreover, not all religious speech that takes place in the public schools or at school-sponsored events is governmental speech. Santa Fe, 530 U.S. at 302. For example, "nothing in the Constitution ... prohibits any public school student from voluntarily praying at any time before, during, or after the school day," and students may pray with fellow students during the school day on the same terms and conditions that they may engage in other conversation or speech. Santa Fe, 530 U.S. at 313.

Prayer in Public School - Our Country's Legacy
It wasn't until the early 1960's that prayer in public school was "outlawed" by a new interpretation of the U.S. Constitution. In fact, the history of the U.S. includes prayer and Bible readings in all sorts of public places, including schools. In 1782, the United States Congress passed the following resolution: "The Congress of the United States recommends and approves the Holy Bible for use in all schools."

William Holmes McGuffey is the author of the McGuffey Reader, which was used for over 100 years in U.S. public schools with over 125 million copies sold until it was stopped in 1963. President Lincoln called him the "Schoolmaster of the Nation." McGuffey declared: "The Christian religion is the religion of our country. From it are derived our notions on the character of God, on the great moral Governor of the universe. On its doctrines are founded the peculiarities of our free institutions. From no source has the author drawn more conspicuously than from the sacred Scriptures. From all these extracts from the Bible I make no apology."

Of the first 108 universities founded in America, 106 were distinctly Christian, including the first, Harvard University, chartered in 1636. In the original Harvard Student Handbook, rule number 1 was that students seeking entrance must know Latin and Greek so that they could study the Scriptures: "Let every student be plainly instructed and earnestly pressed to consider well, the main end of his life and studies is, to know God and Jesus Christ, which is eternal life, (John 17:3); and therefore to lay Jesus Christ as the only foundation of all sound knowledge and learning. And seeing the Lord only giveth wisdom, let every one seriously set himself by prayer in secret to seek it of him (Proverbs 2:3)."

Review More Case Law Now!


Like this information? Help us by sharing it with others. What is this?